Major Project Chapter 2 – The Adventures of Cron and Igor

Meeting with supervisor Mick #1: Get python processes running on Igor automatically. This will be the goal for this week.

For my 2nd blog post I’ll be telling the tale of Cron from Unix, and Igor from Goldsmiths, and the mystery of how they will work together communicating in the language of the Python.

Cron and crontab

The software utility cron is a time-based job scheduler in Unix-like OS [1]. I’ll be using it for batch scheduling in the back-end of my MRS. Essentially what I need it to do is make GET requests to an API backend like Rap Genius, so that I can process the data and fill a database with cosine similarity from Doc2Vec so I can start getting meaningful distances in a 1 dimensional semantic data space.

I have managed to get cron scheduling python scripts on my Igor user space like so:

[jkirt001@igor ~]$ crontab -l

*/10 * * * * /usr/bin/python ~/public_html/MajorProj/test.py

For more information on Cron see the useful quick reference guide here [2].

Mick meeting #3: Create own web server on igor and start serving HTML with python.

Bibliography

[1] https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cron

[2] http://www.adminschoice.com/crontab-quick-reference

Leave a comment